Event organizers can turn Brella’s networking features on or off for any user group — allowing for a customized experience for different ticket types and opening up a whole new world of monetization opportunities.
If networking is turned off for a particular group, any attendees / sponsors in that group will not be able to send or receive meeting requests.
Impact on ongoing events
This release will not impact any ongoing or upcoming events unless an event organizer actively enables networking gating for specific user groups. This feature is disabled by default.
How it works
Admin Panel: Turn networking on / off for specific groups:
- Event organizers can click into any user group in an event's People tab, and turn networking on / off for all attendees in that group.
- Networking is enabled by default for all groups, and can be turned off either before or during the event. However, if networking is turned off during the event, affected attendees will retain their existing meetings, but won't be able to set any new meetings up.
- Any organizers attempting to change this setting during an event will receive a warning notification as well.
Admin Panel: Changing attendees' user groups while using networking rules
Moving, adding or deleting members all mean that attendees will be moved to a different group which may result in a change of Networking rules. In this case we will also give a warning if some of the members affected have already joined the event.
Admin Panel: Merging user groups
When merging group, the platform needs to know which rules to apply to the new merged group. A new dropdown is added on the pop-up modal asking which group's rules should be used for the new merged group. This can be changed later within the merged group.
Note: If any members are affected by rule change, EOs will see a warning about this.
- If an attendee assigned to a group with networking turned OFF visits the web app, they will not be permitted to access Brella's networking features.
- Specific actions related to networking, such as visiting the People tab, clicking on an avatar in a stream chat or visiting a sponsor booth will offer up messages explaining the attendees' lack of access to networking. In addition, networking-related elements will also be hidden for the following locations:
- "Your availability" in schedule
- Company representative section in sponsors
- Event checklist
- Networking section in event Home
Native iOS / Android Apps
Learn more about the feature
Please visit the following Help Center articles to learn more about this release: